Tuesday, April 14, 2015

Dances




      Dances here at Weld Central used to be the one thing I looked forward to. That's when all the high schoolers used to be down here. There used to be a big circle in the middle and that's where everyone would go and we'd all dance. The sophomore class this year was so much fun to have down here. Everyone knew them and they were nice to everyone. Once they left our dances got boring. The freshmen class was so boring and just stood around. There were only a few people who would dance.
      This year we don't do much. We went in there all excited to have the middle and anyone who wasn't in 8th grade got kicked out. When we went into the dance none of us danced until the middle. There wasn't a lot of good songs and so we didn't do much. Then we tried to make our circle. Seventh grade boys came in and wanted to dance with us. We pushed them out and we started dancing. As the dance went on it got even more boring. Songs repeated and people started leaving. The worst thing was,was that it was hot. Our school usually has drinks and food for when you get tired of dancing. You would go out to get food or something to drink and all of it was gone. In the first 15 minutes of the dance!!
      You have to pay 5 dollars to get in. They want to raise money for the school. The first dance wasn't fun so they put on 2 more. There was hardly anyone that went to either. They were boring and most people say its a waste of money. They make a lot of money. I'm pretty sure they use that money for the next dance. They have cool props but instead of props why don't they hire a good DJ and have some more food.
       They should put on dances after school. I know a school that does that and they make a lot of money and everyone goes! It'd be a lot nicer and it'd be more fun because it'd be dark outside!! I think the next dance they put on should be at night. Our dances used to be so much fun! But now that no one goes it's so boring.
        The school is losing money and the kids don't like the dance. If you don't want to go to the dance they put you in "detention". They usually have a movie for the kids who don't want to go to the dance but they took that away from the kids. They want to make money so they're forcing you to go to the dance. This is a punishment if you don't want to go to the dance. Dances would be a lot more fun if we did them at night and we had something to drink and eat. The dances would be a lot more fun and our school would make money.

Thursday, April 9, 2015

Testing



    Testing is hard enough on kids. We have had so much testing that it is un-believable! The teachers and parents are over the testing. These tests don't reflect on the kids so whats the point of taking them? The news even said how there was too much testing and that it is not helping us. Parents are starting an uproar! It's way to much testing and not enough brains.
   Testing is wasting not only the kids time but the teachers time. What's even worse is that we have to test for a week. We don't have enough computers for everybody to all test at once, so it takes weeks for everyone to get done! They either need more computers or not test at all.
    The kids didn't take any of these tests seriously. None of us wanted to do it so we just didn't try. What is the point of even taking them if it doesn't count toward our grade.
     As we tested we realized it was taking up our own time in class. We don't like school, because who does? With all the tests we took I would rather be back in class. We always complain about being in class and how we should do something fun. Taking these tests are the opposite of fun. They are pointless and dont reflect us. The biggest thing is that when you are testing you have to be dead silent and it takes forever to finish the tests. Some tests are to see how the teacher has been doing. Well, evaluate them, don't take it out on us! Did they not realize that we could just bomb the test if we on't like the teacher? It's not fair for us to be testing and it isn't fair for the teachers if they get bad grades.
    The test usually only had 4 maybe 5 questions of it. They gave us 1 hour or more to finish it. These questions were so easy you could probably finish the test in 10 minutes. We had a girl who had extended time, which means we had to wait even longer! It was terrible!! When the test was over you had to read. So us as kids are saying " you're telling me I have to take a test that's pointless and long, then rot out our brains even more by reading?". We had a pretty cool teacher who let us sleep, but our book had to be open. He said it at least made him feel good. The worst thing was, was when you were done testing you couldn't leave. You had to wait while everyone else was done. My class got so mad. We had to sit there for at least 40 minutes and wait till ONE person got done. That's ridiculous!! You should be able to leave when your done testing, better yet not test at all.


School Funding




     School funding is a big issue at our school. We've had lots of money issues, and we've had lots of teachers and employees that have had to be laid off. We've tried to do fundraisers and box tops but nothing is helping. We are still in dept after all we have done. Some of the administrators have said that soon we will need to take away our sports. That won't help! That'd make a lot of people mad and we wouldn't be able to play any sports. Even though they complain about our health!
     There is now talk about the busing being cut. That will create a huge problem!! We use the buses because some of our parents work and can't come pick us up. None of the administrators can think about anyone else. I know that if they were those parents they would be absolutely furious!! We can't take away the buses because that is our transportation. If they get rid of the busing what will they do when we have an emergency. We have had emergencies where we need to go to the elementary. If that happens again we would have to walk. They cant't take busing away because we need them! We have a school where not many people know where it is. It's a little community with a bunch of fields. Cutting ALL buses won't do any good.
      Our school has tried to do box tops. Box tops don't work because the kids don't bring them. Or they don't tell their parents to save them. We can't do much for the school because we have no money. Our school used to be really good and we used to have all the money we needed. Instead of buying the sports teams jerseys use it on getting better lunches. For example, the volleyball team had really nice jerseys that matched the spandex. They didn't let us use those, instead they went and bought a whole new set. The seventh graders even got new jerseys! If the school wants to go out and buy all new things they don't need to complain about money.
    Our school needs to learn to save and be more wise with our money. We can have more fundraisers but they have to be fun fundraisers.

     Our fundraisers aren't any fun. The ones we do are for 4th graders. We get monkeys? Why would we want monkeys.. or ducks? Its little kid toys. We should do a fun fundraiser, like the limo one. We could even get pizza or have a fun day at school. We need to have some other fundraisers that are fun for kids and fun for parents. The cookie dough one makes a lot of money but the breakfast fundraiser doesn't make a lot now because everyone has gotten tired of them. If we did better, more fun fundraisers we would actually make money. Once we make the money we would have to actually spend it right for once.