Tuesday, April 14, 2015

Dances




      Dances here at Weld Central used to be the one thing I looked forward to. That's when all the high schoolers used to be down here. There used to be a big circle in the middle and that's where everyone would go and we'd all dance. The sophomore class this year was so much fun to have down here. Everyone knew them and they were nice to everyone. Once they left our dances got boring. The freshmen class was so boring and just stood around. There were only a few people who would dance.
      This year we don't do much. We went in there all excited to have the middle and anyone who wasn't in 8th grade got kicked out. When we went into the dance none of us danced until the middle. There wasn't a lot of good songs and so we didn't do much. Then we tried to make our circle. Seventh grade boys came in and wanted to dance with us. We pushed them out and we started dancing. As the dance went on it got even more boring. Songs repeated and people started leaving. The worst thing was,was that it was hot. Our school usually has drinks and food for when you get tired of dancing. You would go out to get food or something to drink and all of it was gone. In the first 15 minutes of the dance!!
      You have to pay 5 dollars to get in. They want to raise money for the school. The first dance wasn't fun so they put on 2 more. There was hardly anyone that went to either. They were boring and most people say its a waste of money. They make a lot of money. I'm pretty sure they use that money for the next dance. They have cool props but instead of props why don't they hire a good DJ and have some more food.
       They should put on dances after school. I know a school that does that and they make a lot of money and everyone goes! It'd be a lot nicer and it'd be more fun because it'd be dark outside!! I think the next dance they put on should be at night. Our dances used to be so much fun! But now that no one goes it's so boring.
        The school is losing money and the kids don't like the dance. If you don't want to go to the dance they put you in "detention". They usually have a movie for the kids who don't want to go to the dance but they took that away from the kids. They want to make money so they're forcing you to go to the dance. This is a punishment if you don't want to go to the dance. Dances would be a lot more fun if we did them at night and we had something to drink and eat. The dances would be a lot more fun and our school would make money.

Thursday, April 9, 2015

Testing



    Testing is hard enough on kids. We have had so much testing that it is un-believable! The teachers and parents are over the testing. These tests don't reflect on the kids so whats the point of taking them? The news even said how there was too much testing and that it is not helping us. Parents are starting an uproar! It's way to much testing and not enough brains.
   Testing is wasting not only the kids time but the teachers time. What's even worse is that we have to test for a week. We don't have enough computers for everybody to all test at once, so it takes weeks for everyone to get done! They either need more computers or not test at all.
    The kids didn't take any of these tests seriously. None of us wanted to do it so we just didn't try. What is the point of even taking them if it doesn't count toward our grade.
     As we tested we realized it was taking up our own time in class. We don't like school, because who does? With all the tests we took I would rather be back in class. We always complain about being in class and how we should do something fun. Taking these tests are the opposite of fun. They are pointless and dont reflect us. The biggest thing is that when you are testing you have to be dead silent and it takes forever to finish the tests. Some tests are to see how the teacher has been doing. Well, evaluate them, don't take it out on us! Did they not realize that we could just bomb the test if we on't like the teacher? It's not fair for us to be testing and it isn't fair for the teachers if they get bad grades.
    The test usually only had 4 maybe 5 questions of it. They gave us 1 hour or more to finish it. These questions were so easy you could probably finish the test in 10 minutes. We had a girl who had extended time, which means we had to wait even longer! It was terrible!! When the test was over you had to read. So us as kids are saying " you're telling me I have to take a test that's pointless and long, then rot out our brains even more by reading?". We had a pretty cool teacher who let us sleep, but our book had to be open. He said it at least made him feel good. The worst thing was, was when you were done testing you couldn't leave. You had to wait while everyone else was done. My class got so mad. We had to sit there for at least 40 minutes and wait till ONE person got done. That's ridiculous!! You should be able to leave when your done testing, better yet not test at all.


School Funding




     School funding is a big issue at our school. We've had lots of money issues, and we've had lots of teachers and employees that have had to be laid off. We've tried to do fundraisers and box tops but nothing is helping. We are still in dept after all we have done. Some of the administrators have said that soon we will need to take away our sports. That won't help! That'd make a lot of people mad and we wouldn't be able to play any sports. Even though they complain about our health!
     There is now talk about the busing being cut. That will create a huge problem!! We use the buses because some of our parents work and can't come pick us up. None of the administrators can think about anyone else. I know that if they were those parents they would be absolutely furious!! We can't take away the buses because that is our transportation. If they get rid of the busing what will they do when we have an emergency. We have had emergencies where we need to go to the elementary. If that happens again we would have to walk. They cant't take busing away because we need them! We have a school where not many people know where it is. It's a little community with a bunch of fields. Cutting ALL buses won't do any good.
      Our school has tried to do box tops. Box tops don't work because the kids don't bring them. Or they don't tell their parents to save them. We can't do much for the school because we have no money. Our school used to be really good and we used to have all the money we needed. Instead of buying the sports teams jerseys use it on getting better lunches. For example, the volleyball team had really nice jerseys that matched the spandex. They didn't let us use those, instead they went and bought a whole new set. The seventh graders even got new jerseys! If the school wants to go out and buy all new things they don't need to complain about money.
    Our school needs to learn to save and be more wise with our money. We can have more fundraisers but they have to be fun fundraisers.

     Our fundraisers aren't any fun. The ones we do are for 4th graders. We get monkeys? Why would we want monkeys.. or ducks? Its little kid toys. We should do a fun fundraiser, like the limo one. We could even get pizza or have a fun day at school. We need to have some other fundraisers that are fun for kids and fun for parents. The cookie dough one makes a lot of money but the breakfast fundraiser doesn't make a lot now because everyone has gotten tired of them. If we did better, more fun fundraisers we would actually make money. Once we make the money we would have to actually spend it right for once. 

Friday, March 13, 2015

Mary's life



     There was a little girl named Mary. Her mother had died and her father was an alcoholic. She had a very unstable life. Her friends were always there for her and they were the only people she could count on. She would go to school and the teachers would buy her any thing she wanted. The school councilor was her best friend. Every morning when the bell rang she would go to the councilor. The teachers and the school cop would do anything for her. She was very athletic and everyone loved her.
      Before her mom died she got remarried. Her step father had one daughter. Mary loved her sister and would stick up for her anytime she needed to. Mary was in 8th grade when all of this was happening. Her step father and her family went to California. The dad left Mary's brother in California because apparently he " didn't want him anymore". Mary didn't know what to do. A few weeks later the dad made Mary go and live with a family member. Mary didn't know what to do and kept switching families.










Thursday, March 12, 2015

Sad Story



   
    One day there was a little girl named Rose. Her father had died when she was in second grade and her mother was a drug addict. She then had to be adopted by a wealthy, angry lady. The lady's name was  Susanna. She had two daughters, Casee and Margaret. The two girls were so spoiled and they didn't even know it. When Rose got there she didn't feel like she'd be at home. Rose was a daddy's girl, so of course she was going to take it hard. Her sister's were very mean to her and didn't care what happened to her. They acted like she was their slave. She didn't want to be there, she wanted her father back.
     Susanna had asked her to do chores while Casee and Margaret just sat there. They hated Rose just as much as she hated them. Casee and Margaret had swim lessons that day and so Rose had to clean the pool. Susanna went out after the pool was sparkly clean and watched the girls swim. Rose had to go clean up the house. Instead of going straight to the house she went into the garage. In the garage was the sprinkling system, she turned them on, Susanna, Casee and Margaret all got wet. They threw a fit!
     Rose started her first day of school. She was a beautiful blonde hair, blue eyed girl. There was a boy, Todd,  that she had in her 2nd period. He really liked her and asked for her number. Of course Rose gave him her number. Her step sisters had really liked Todd. Rose tried to keep it a secret that they were talking because if her sisters knew they would hurt her. She emailed him and her sisters started to find out. Todd had a weird name for his email, so Casee and Margaret couldn't find out who it was. There was a spring dance but you have to come in a mask. Todd didn't know who anyone was but there was a gorgeous girl who could dance like no other. He asked her to dance and then it struck 12. The girl was Rose, she couldn't be at the dance. She was supposed to be at home, cleaning! On the way out she dropped her phone. Her phone had no pictures but tons of music.
      The next day at school Tod had asked everyone to come see if it was their phone. Though he didn't show it to anyone, he asked what songs were on the phone. They all told him what songs, tons and tons of girls. But every one was wrong. Rose didn't want her sisters to know that it was her phone so she didn't go up there. She knew it was hers but she didn't worry about it. She kept wondering if she should just tell him or what to do. She went home and once again, had to clean.
       Rose wanted to go to her friends house. She had to sneak out really late at night just to go to her friends house. Her and her friend went to Todd's house to tell him that it was her phone. Rose found the most popular girl in school at Todd's window. Todd didn't like her but Rose didn't know that. Rose was heartbroken and left. The next day she didn't even want to look at Todd. She went and tried to get her phone without making it noticeable. She couldn't let her sisters find out. Todd loudly announced that it was Rose's phone and her sisters heard.
       When they got home her sisters told her mom. Rose had a dream college she wanted to go to. Come to find out Todd wanted to go there as well!! Rose and Todd packet up before her sisters or mom could even notice. Susanna was very mad now that she doesn't have a servant. Susanna broke her leg because she fell down the stairs. Cassee and Margaret had to start working and cleaned the pool. But Todd and Rose? They lived happy together in a small house by the college.














Tuesday, March 10, 2015

1st grade



   
       When I was in first grade there was a girl that I thought was my best friend. She stood up for me when my sister and her friends were being mean to me. She was really nice. We didn't like her cousin so we were both mean to her. We played on the playground together and swung each other on the swing. We were best friends!!
       One day my mom bought me some lip gloss. This was my favorite lip gloss of all time! My "best friend" stole my lip gloss! I was so mad at her and I didn't want to even look at her. She had taken my favorite lip gloss that I JUST got. I got mad and pulled her hair. It was terrible. She got all butt hurt and started to cry. I had to spend the whole day in the councilors office. I thought I was going to get in trouble so I started to cry and I got out of class.
      My sister didn't like her so she gave her a wedgie. I was so upset and my mom was mad because she had just bought it. I haven't liked her since. That memory is still in my head. Now that I look back at it I think it's funny. I laugh about it because we were so little and so immature. This year she came to our school and I saw it was her and I had to laugh thinking about it. I didn't talk to and I don't known if she remembered me. Her cousin and I are friends now and neither of us like her. Its funny how years later we become friends and leave her in the dust.
     She only stayed at this school for about 2 weeks. I was okay with that because I still remembered when she took my lip gloss. I never liked her, she didn't have many friends here. Her cousin is one of my friends and said that she moved back to Mexico. I laughed about it when she came. I don't know if she remembered me but I sure did remember her. When all my friends were together I told them about who she was, how i knew her and of course how she stole my lip gloss. They laughed about it and teased me because my sister gave her a wedgie.
      Now that I think about it I know it was childish and immature but I was only in 1st grade! I know i'll look back on this and laugh. I laugh about it now! 

Thursday, March 5, 2015

Barrel Racing




              I had always wanted to be a barrel racer ever since I was little. We had 5 or 6 horses and 1 of them was my all- time favorite. Her name was Penny and my mom was always riding her. I had heard that my moms other horse was better but he died when I was little. They told me he was the one I'd always try to ride, his name was Sundance. I don't remember much about these two but i guess that I loved both of them and always wanted to ride. When we go to rodeos my favorite part is the barrel racing.
            Sometimes there is barrel racing on a rodeo channel. My dad texts me to come watch it every time its on. I want to start riding more. Summer is the best time to ride but in the summer I'm busy with my 4-h animals. We have a lot of horses to chose from but yet we go to a horse sale and buy a new one every year. I would love to start riding more! I can't always be outside to ride and I haven't had a lot of experience. I love to bare- back ride, but their spine feels so funny. I have tried to get someone to help me advance to barrels. My mom loved to ride and rode every chance she got, she still tries to ride. One of our horses is so tame, my grandma even rode him! Her family was big in riding and rodeos as well.
           I hope that one day I'll be really good and be able to barrel race. My sister has tried to ride but she doesn't like it as much as me. Barrel racing and riding isn't my hobby like volleyball, but I still like to ride. I would like to try to ride my horses more, but I need more help. I love going to stock show and the rodeos, watching the pro- barrel racers. I've watched a few pro racers on the TV but i'd love to go see them in person.

4-h


   

               My father was raised with a family that loved agriculture. When we were little he bought pigs to butcher. I LOVED pigs, I would name them, play with them, I would even take naps with them! That's when I started to really like them. We had heard that you can show them in 4-h, but I didn't know how! I started my first year out with goats and then my second year i went with pigs. I watched the kids getting grand champion while I got second place. I wasn't satisfied with second place.
               I tried very hard, and even had some training with showmanship. As i grew older I got better with a lot of practice. My parents were so proud of me for getting high placings with my pigs. I hadn't done anything with my goats. We went to a show with my goats for my first year, since I didn't know much. I wasn't excited at all about showing. I went in there and I was scared. As i watch the judge make his final decision, I watch my parents. My dad talking to me telling me what to do and my mom just smiling. There were only 3 of us left, which is good! I was so happy so i showed even harder and then 1 got pulled. The judge grabbed the microphone and told the crowd that I got reserve grand champion. My parents were so proud of me, but my sister on the other hand, was upset, since she didn't win. Winning reserve grand my first year boosted my confidence through the roof!
               When fair came I was excited to show but also scared. I didn't know a lot of people there since I had only been showing for 2 years at that fair. My parents were proud of me for getting 4th, since it was such a big fair. I wasn't very happy with myself, but I knew next year would be a better year. When pigs came I got excited. I went in with a lot of confidence and came out with a second place ribbon. This time I was proud of myself for doing good in pigs at such a big show. I sold my pig, while I was sad to let him go I was excited that I did so well,
             The next year my sister got reserve grand champion showman. I was so mad that I wanted to quit. My dad told me he would help me and get me to be grand champion. Me and my sister argued about who was a better showman. Of course I knew she was better but I just wanted to make a point. Over the winter I spent time thinking about how I was going to win. I started out with a clean slate and bought everything new. Each night when I went to bed I thought of how I would walk them and what I'd do to win. I even made some plans to get together with someone who would help me become a better showman. I planned out who I'd buy my goats from and when. I didn't want to ask my sister for help because I knew she couldn't help me. I was determined to win grand champion by myself.
              This last year, after all the hard work I had finally won grand champion goat showman. I went in the show ring determined. I wasn't scared at all because I knew I could do it. They took me in the ring with the juniors and I got grand champion and a big ribbon. I then moved up with the seniors and I knew I could win. My sister was cocky going in, saying that she was going to beat me. I beat out all the seniors and got grand champion that came with a belt buckle. I wasn't to happy with my pigs because they didn't do very well. I think it was half way on my part because I wasn't working as hard as I could.
              Over the years I have done better. I now know what to do and I am still trying to learn more. I want to show throughout all my years in high school and hopefully get to teach the younger kids how to show. Showing in 4-h and at the fair has made me be a better showman, better person, and has made me meet more people. I would like to do even better with my animals this year! I'm so glad on how much I've improved.

Volleyball





              Volleyball has been my passion ever since my sister had started playing when she was about 8. We both had played on a rec league and I had played every second I could at my house. Getting older rec leagues weren't any fun. Since I had already been playing for a long time and everyone else had just started playing, I got really bored during games. It was my favorite sport, so I had to make it fun somehow. On that team I was probably the one you'd call " a ball hog".
             My cousin was a big time volleyball player. She had played club volleyball and had played in college. She was one i'd look up to. I bugged my mom about me working with her and me and her going to some club or college games together, My sister was playing club at that time and I went to her games, Since they were all quite young there were only a few things to learn. My mom never had time to ask my cousin if I could work with her, so I took matter into my own hands. My cousin and I would go to the gym every Saturday for 2 weeks and play volleyball. She would help me with her tricks and techniques. We went to UNC volleyball and CSU. As we watched she would tell me the mistakes they made and what they did good. She was my inspiration, before we went. After the game,  I wanted to be just like those college girls.
             I started practicing more and more to be like those girls. There was a near-by club team that we had heard about. My mom told me it'd be good for me to go. I was scared because there were a lot of people there. Turns out, I would make a lot of friends and meet coaches! The try outs were later that year and every-now-and-then there would be drop ins. I went to all those and got some more practice. I tried out for the team and was scared I wasn't going to make it. I looked on the website to see who made it, and my number was on there! I was so excited and my parents were so happy for me. We started practicing and at first I didn't know many people but as the season went on I got to know them all very well.
            Club has made me meet a lot of new people! When we go to tournaments we get to play and meet all these new girls. Its amazing getting to go to tournaments and seeing everyone and getting to play them. You get to talk with them and exchange numbers or snap-chats. When we go to big national tournaments we get to see people from out of state. When that same tournament comes back the next year you get to see all the people you played and met the past year. Club volleyball has made me become a better player and leader.
            I can't wait for high school! Some people don't care what team they play on, but I sure do! I would love to be a starter on varsity as a freshman. Over the summer I am going to work and try to improve. I would feel accomplished if I was a starter for varsity. Playing on varsity would make me feel good and i'd also get to meet new people. I'd be better friends with all the upper class-men. I want to show all the people who told me I couldn't play volleyball that i could.
           As I grow up I would love to be a coach and play in college. I want to be recruited from different schools in high school. Over all I want to succeed in volleyball. All the time, effort, blood, sweat, tears and bruises from diving would pay off. I want to become the volleyball player the little kids look up to. I hope to be a great volleyball player and succeed.